Skip to content ↓

Meadowside School

Inspiring brighter futures

Qualifications & Accreditations


Qualifications and Accreditation

On this page, you will find an explanation of the current qualifications and accreditations we deliver at Key Stage 4 and our Post 16 provision. Our aim is to adapt to ensure all pupils are accredited for their skills and progress and that pupils’ learning , progress and subsequent accreditation is never capped.

Qualification and Accreditation Levels 

  • Pre-entry level 
  • Entry Level 1
  • Entry Level 2
  • Entry Level 3
  • Level 1 (equivalent to GCSE grades 3-1 )
  • Level 2 (Equivalent to GCSE grades 9-4)
  • GCSE 9-1 

Key Stage 4 and Post 16

Entry Level

Entry Level in the UK is the lowest level in the National Qualifications Framework in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Qualifications at this level recognise basic knowledge and skills and the ability to apply learning in everyday situations under direct guidance or supervision.

Learning at this level involves building basic knowledge and skills and is not usually geared towards specific occupations. Entry Level qualifications can be taken at three levels (Entry 1, Entry 2 and Entry 3) They are targeted at a range of learners including those with learning difficulties. The level after Entry Level in the National Qualifications Framework is Level 1, which includes GCSE grades 9-1. We currently offer entry levels in the following subjects:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Personal and Social Development (Careers, PSHE and Citizenship)

All our qualifications are ‘buildable’ meaning pupils can make progress upwards through the levels and also laterally by gaining a larger qualification such as a certificate, award or diploma.

Functional Skills

In English and Maths we offer functional skills qualification at Level 1 and Level 2 for those  pupils that are able to access it.


Although some of our pupils are able to access a specific GCSE level most are likely to follow the Entry Level framework of qualifications.

We offer GCSEs in Art (Art and Craft) at Meadowside. Some pupils are able to access GCSEs via our links with Woodchurch High School, most recently have been in English, Maths, Physics and Art (Fine Art)

Pre Entry Level

Where entry level qualifications are not available in specific subject areas, or pupils do not meet Entry Level criteria in English, Maths, Science, Careers, PSHE and Citizenship we use the AQA unit award scheme to accredit learning and progress. This is a certified scheme where standards are moderated by the exam board.

SILSAF (Secondary Independent Living Skills Assessment Framework)?

SILSAF is an assessment tool which has been designed and developed by Brookfields School to monitor Key Stage 4 and 6th Form students’ progress in the development of their independence skills. As well as being a way to standardise the collection of data relating to students’ progress, we also use SILSAF set targets. One of the many threads which run through the curriculum in Key Stage 4 and Post 16 is the acquisition of Independent Living Skills – SILSAF allows staff, students and families to track progress in acquiring and applying everyday skills across a range of different settings. For more information, please see their SILSAF handbook via the link below